Cajun Shrimp and Noodles

What better way to start this off than with what I am making tonight.

Disclaimer: My style is to never follow a recipe completely as I almost never have exactly what it calls for and I am usually trying to go for something different but can’t exactly find a recipe for it.

This recipe is for Cajun Grilled Shrimp but I wanted some noodles and an oil based sauce instead of cream.

  Ingredients:

1 lb. shrimp, peeled and deveined (I think I have about 3/4lb)

Enough olive oil to cover the bottom of the pan well

salt and pepper

½ tsp. dried thyme

½ tsp. dried oregano

½ tsp. paprika

½ tsp. garlic powder

pinch of cayenne pepper

A box of noodles, spaghetti or linguine work best

Roma tomato chopped

Directions:

I put everything but the shrimp and noodles into a pan.  In hindsight I probably should have tossed it all on the shrimp but that’s not a big deal.  I pulled the shrimp from the freezer to thaw, rinsing under cold water first. If it is fresh be sure to shell and devein the shrimp.

Cook the noodles according to whatever the box says.

About halfway through the noodles I started to cook the shrimp as it only needs to pan fry for about 3-6 minutes, or as soon as it turns bright pink.

Toss the noodles with a little bit of olive oil and a dash of all of the spices listed except the cayenne pepper.  Put the noodles on a plate, top with tomatoes and shrimp.  Enjoy!

The finished product!

Neil and I both enjoyed this a lot.  Could have used a little bit more of the cayenne pepper as we prefer nice and spicy but it was still very good.

Credit goes to Annie’s Eats for the original recipe (http://annies-eats.com/2008/07/16/cajun-grilled-shrimp/)

One response to “Cajun Shrimp and Noodles

Shore your thoughts and experiences

