Campfire Cookin’: Stuffed French Toast

A little early morning campfire cooking in the rain!

 

Neil and I took a few days to run out to Traverse City, MI and Sleeping Bear Sand Dunes National Lakeshore.  As we prefer camping both for the low cost and being able to relax in the great outdoors we ended up with some fun little treats but the best one, in my opinion, was the stuffed french toast.

 

Ingredients:

Cream Cheese (softened!)

Bread

2 eggs

1/8 tsp Ginger

1/8 tsp Clove

1/8 tsp Nutmeg

1/2 tsp Cinnamon

1/4-1/2 cup of milk

Cast Iron Pie Iron

Fire!

 

Directions:

Mix the egg and milk together.  Once it is well blended mix in the spices.  When I made this I failed to soften the cream cheese so it ended up being little ‘blocks’ of cream cheese instead of it being spread out on the bread.

 

I made a cream cheese sandwich and then dipped that in the egg mixture.  I quickly tossed it in the pie iron and then held it over the fire checking it periodically to make sure it didn’t burn.  Once it has a nice golden brown color or even darker, I took them off, added a little powdered sugar and some syrup.

Finished product!

 

 

Now to add to this breakfast I also had some breakfast sausage I fried up in the pie iron.  I just tossed them all in and flipped them until they were a little brown and sizzling.  I started the french toast right after that and they stayed hot until we ate.

A fun addition to these would be to make it a little sweeter and add sugar to the cream cheese, add banana, strawberries or other fruit.  And another idea I had too late was to make a McGriddle of sorts and put some eggs and sausage in the middle instead of the cream cheese.  Please share any fun ideas and successes you have with stuffing your french toast and don’t forget you don’t need a fire and a pie iron to make these, its just more fun!

 

Shore your thoughts and experiences

