Leftover Mayhem! Alfredo Concoction

Unfortunately I didn’t grab any pictures because I didn’t even think it was going to be good.  But here is a little leftover mayhem that ended up being really good.  This is a little haphazard but those of you that cook on a regular basis will hopefully get what happened here.  All of these things were made at different times so I can’t say for sure exactly how much of everything went in.  Its not a homemade alfredo but something I’m really interested in trying to make because I can’t seem to find it anymore.

Ingredients:

Lundberg Wild Rice Blend

Classico Roasted Poblano Alfredo Sauce

Chicken

Italian herb mix

Cayenne Pepper

Garlic Salt

Zucchini

Onion

Olive oil

 

Directions:

Make the rice according to the package.  It was leftover and the bag has already been thrown away or else I would share.

Sprinkle some Italian seasoning mix, cayenne pepper, and garlic salt (not too much salt or it gets too salty) on the chicken breast.  I honestly added all of this stuff to taste.  If I had to guess it would be 1/8 tsp Italian Seasoning mix and just a pinch of the cayenne pepper and garlic salt.  My chicken was frozen so I baked it at 350F for about 40 minutes and my meat thermometer read 165.

Stir fry the onions, zucchini, little bit of olive oil, pinch of garlic salt, 1/4 tsp Italian Seasonings.

Warm up the jar of Alfredo in a sauce pan on the stove.  I would set the temp to low so it doesn’t burn to the bottom of the pot.

Once everything is ready mix the rice and zucchini/onion stir fry together.  Put the piece of chicken in the middle and cover with the Alfredo sauce and enjoy!

Amazing rice. Worth every penny.

A tasty treat I picked up at Big Lots! Value food shopping FTW!

I really didn’t think this was going to turn out as good as it did and I wish I would have had pictures and a more clear recipe.  The Mexican flair of the poblano pepper Alfredo sauce and the sort of nutty flavor the rice has really made this dish fantastic.  And helped clean up all the leftovers!  I absolutely hate waste so I’m sure I will have more posts like this in the future.

Shore your thoughts and experiences

