Jarring: Jalapenos

Today is a little different.  Not a meal or mishmash of things leftover in the fridge but a gardening recipe.  This will take you through from start to finish including sterilizing the jars.

I started a little garden in pots on my balcony and while I have struggled and learned so much along the way, I also prospered and ended up with a bunch of jalapenos.  Unfortunately I only have one plant so I don’t have enough for a full jar so I bought a few more at the store to fill it up.  Anyway, I’m going to document this little learning adventure from start to finish and hopefully it inspires others too!  I have to say having a garden has been extremely rewarding, even if it is a potted balcony garden.

A word of caution:  Jalapenos are spicy and pack a lot of heat (duh).  Thoroughly wash hands, utensils, and counters to avoid getting any of the oils anywhere you may not want them.  It is also probably a good idea to wash any towels you used.  I have accidentally touched my eyes after cutting jalapenos and it is a terrible feeling.  I have learned since then.  Just trying to save you all from some unnecessary pain.

Ingredients:

Jalapenos about half a pound

1 tbsp. Pickling Salt

1 c. Filtered water

1 c. 5% acidity vinegar

Ball Pickle Crisp Granules Optional (Amount depends on the size of the jar being used)

Jars that seal, I used Ball

Tongs

Towel

Large pot with lid or pressure cooker

This is the pot I used.

Directions:

I don’t have a pressure cooker so I am using a large pot to sterilize and seal up the jars once full.  Go ahead and start boiling this water now.

Wash the jars and lids with hot soapy water to start sterilization.

Mix the vinegar, salt, and water together in a pot and boil it to dissolve everything.

While you are waiting on that cut up your jalapenos however you would like to.  I used slices.

Once everything is cut and boiling you can go ahead and start the process.  Boil the jars and lids to further sterilize them.  Pull them out with tongs and set them on a towel.  Be careful it is very hot.  Put the peppers into the hot jars and then pour the hot brine over them.  Add the proper amount of  Pickle Crisp.  The pickle crisp is not necessary but I wanted crispy peppers in a few months.

Get rid of bubbles by lightly tapping the jars on the counter and using a chopstick to help get out stubborn bubbles.

Put the lid and the band on tight.

Place in the large pot of hot boiling water for 10 minutes to create a good seal.

Carefully remove the jars and place in the fridge.  From what I read this should be great after about a month or a little longer and they keep for about a year or so.

I guess we will see what these are like in a month!  Sucks having to wait for the outcome but I’m excited to see what happens.  Here is the aftermath.

Mmmm. Can’t wait to toss these on nachos!

I almost forgot to give credit where credit is due!  I got these tips and recipes from a few sites:

3 responses to “Jarring: Jalapenos

    • I am so glad I have never done that. I have to remember to thoroughly wash my hands and rinse my mouth out well before doing ANYTHING because, dirty details, I have a habit of picking food out of my teeth or wiping the sauce off my mouth with my hands. Napkin is good enough after that right? Wrong! >.> my poor poor eyes.

Shore your thoughts and experiences

