Pumpkin Oatmeal Muffins (Now with vegan options ^_^)

This is a hearty muffin I find myself making often throughout the past year with the leftover pumpkin puree in the freezer.  I often eat these for breakfast or as a snack between breakfast and lunch.

Ingredients!

Ingredients:

1 1/2 cups flour (I use half whole what and half all-purpose when I can)

1 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon baking powder

2 teaspoon cinnamon

1 /4 teaspoon clove

1 /4 teaspoon nutmeg

1 /8 teaspoon ginger

1 cup old fashioned oats

1/3 cup brown sugar

1/2 cup sugar

1 egg

1 cup pumpkin puree*

3/4 cup milk (I use rice milk)

1/3 cup olive oil

Optional ingredients: nuts, chocolate chips, raisins, 2 tsp cocoa powder

Directions:

Preheat oven to 400F and get some muffin pans lined with paper cups.

Combine everything from the flour through the sugar in one large bowl.

Mix the egg, pumpkin, milk and olive oil in a separate bowl

Mix the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients in the large bowl.

This is where you would add any of the optional ingredients.  I opted for the cocoa powder.  It wasn’t overbearing and probably could have used a little more.  I also added some almond slivers I had laying around.  The almonds ended up with a bit of a weird texture after baking though.

Mix Mix Mix….

Pour the mix into the muffin cups and bake for about 18 minutes.  When you put a toothpick in and it comes out clean, its done!

Take them out of the oven and serve.  These were good plain as well as with a little bit of butter.  I haven’t tried it yet but I’m sure some peanut butter or a cranberry jam would be awesome with this as well.  These go very well with the pumpkin soup from yesterday’s post ^_^

Le Finished Product

Vegan Adaption!
I just made these vegan style and they came out great.  Here’s the substitution list:
1 egg: 1 tbsp flax meal mixed with 3 tbsp water
1/3 cup Oil/butter: 1/3 cup unsweetened applesauce
3/4 cup milk: Almond milk or rice milk

And an extra little adaption I tried as well, 1/4 cup white sugar and 4 tsp stevia.

This recipe was borrowed, massaged, and reworked with inspiration from: http://www.pbfingers.com/2011/09/12/pumpkin-oatmeal-muffins/

*If anyone is unaware as to how to make your own pumpkin puree from a pumpkin see this wonderful website: http://www.pickyourown.org/pumpkincooking.php

I don’t strictly use pie pumpkins I use the big jack-o-lantern pumpkins as well.  They are not as sweet but sugar is always an option!

Shore your thoughts and experiences

