Easy Pumpkin Pancakes

So I have another little breakfast treat, or dinner if you are a breakfast for dinner kind of person.  These are extremely simple to the point where many boxes of pancake mix even have the recipe on the back of the box.  I was going to do them from scratch but I found as I had just found a box of gluten free mix that I wanted to try out I just went with the easy way.  I chose the gluten free because I possibly have a gluten allergy or sensitivity.  The doc i talked to just said to cut as much out as possible but since its not life threatening or hurting me not to worry too much or bother with tests.  ANYWAY! Enough about me, on to the deliciousness!  Oh one more thing… they are a little disfigured.  I tried to make pumpkin shaped pancakes with little powdered sugar faces.  /fail >.<

De-Licious little stack of goodness

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup pancake mix prepared according to box
  • Water
  • Oil
  • Egg
  • 3/4 cup pumpkin puree*
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • ¼ teaspoon nutmeg
  • ¼ teaspoon clove
  • powdered sugar

Directions:

Prepare the pancake mix according to the box directions.  If you box has a recipe for pumpkin pancakes then feel free to just try that too!  I chose to use gluten free pancake mix for this so the directions called for 1 egg, 1 tbsp oil (I used coconut oil) and 2/3 cup water.

Add pumpkin, cinnamon, nutmeg, and clove and mix.

Heat the pan or griddle to medium heat.

Spoon about 2 tablespoons of batter onto the hot pan.  Or just wing it like I do and see what you end up with!

Cook for about 2 minutes and then flip and cook for another 2 minutes.

Put onto a plate and sprinkle with powdered sugar, spread butter on it, use some maple syrup, or just eat them plain.  Either way, enjoy this tasty fall breakfast!

Mix up all the things!

I served mine with some delicious Bob Evans sausage.

 

 

*If anyone is unaware as to how to make your own pumpkin puree from a pumpkin see this wonderful website: http://www.pickyourown.org/pumpkincooking.php

I don’t strictly use pie pumpkins I use the big jack-o-lantern pumpkins as well.  They aren’t as sweet but sugar is always an option!

One response to “Easy Pumpkin Pancakes

Shore your thoughts and experiences

