Butternut Squash and Apple Casserole

This is another recipe I got from my mom and has been a family favorite at Thanksgiving for quite a few years now.  I have eaten this with dinner, as a dessert, and for breakfast.  It’s a fairly healthy treat that uses a minimal amount of sugar compared to some other recipes.

I work early tomorrow, and I want to get my pumpkin seeds posted up on here as well, so I’m going to get right to it!

Ingredients:

3c cooked mashed butternut squash (See bottom for cooking instructions)

2 Tbsp. butter melted
1 Tbsp. brown sugar
1/4 tsp. salt (optional)
*********************
1 Tbsp. butter
6c. peeled, chopped apples (bite size)
1/4 c. sugar

Cinnamon and nutmeg  (optional)
*********************
1 1/2 c. corn flakes (or other flake style cereal, be creative) coarsely crushed
1/2 c. chopped pecans
1/2 c. firmly packed brown sugar
2 Tbsp. butter melted

Directions:

Cook the squash at 350 for about an hour or until the flesh is very soft and able to be mashed up.  Make sure to save the seeds!

Combine first 4 (or 3) ingredients, stirring well. Set aside.

Melt 1 tablespoon butter in a large skillet, add apples and sugar. Cover and simmer 8 to 10 minutes or until tender. Drain off excess liquid (optional) Stir apples into squash mixture. (not necessary but I like to add a sprinkle of cinnamon and nutmeg.  I added exactly ¼ tsp of each)

Before you spoon the mixture into the casserole dish taste it to see if it is sweet enough for you.

Spoon mixture into a lightly greased 2 qt. casserole dish. Combine remaining, last ingredients, stirring well.  I added a dash of cinnamon and nutmeg in this too. Sprinkle evenly over the squash.

Bake at 350* for about 30 – 40 minutes or until thoroughly heated to desired temperature and the top ‘crust’ is nice and crispy but not burnt.

***Finished product picture to be added asap.  I was anxious to get this posted before I forgot to post it altogether.***

I ended up with too much and you might too if you have a squash as big as mine was.  I made two batches of the squash mixture.  One I put in the freezer WITHOUT the crumble mixture.

Prep tip: This can be prepped the day before a party by making the squash mixture and putting it in the fridge and making the crumble mixture and leaving the butter out right until you are ready to bake it off.

Squash cooking techniques!  Same as the pumpkins: http://www.pickyourown.org/pumpkincooking.php

Shore your thoughts and experiences

