Spiced Cranberry Sauce with Apples

Life, like cranberry sauce, is both sweet and sour.  Unfortunately I’ve been getting the sour end as of late.  I’ve been chewing on lemons, limes, Sour Patch Kids, and cranberries.  I haven’t been able to create and post as much as I like because the college life is rough and leaves little time for myself.  But things will change and turn around and I will keep on keepin’ on.  I have an early Thanksgiving party to go to tomorrow so I took the afternoon and evening to whip up some Thanksgiving dishes and treats.  We’ll start here 🙂

 

I feel this is an awesome recipe for cranberry sauce.  I will take the real homemade stuff any day!  It starts to pull away from the bitter cranberry taste and gives something exciting.  The base of this recipe came from my mom.  The recipe got me to eat cranberry sauce when I used to think it was kinda gross.  Not sure where she got it from but I decided the apple and spices add a great twist and make it warm and comforting for a cold dish.

 

Ingredients:

12oz Fresh Cranberries

1 cup orange juice

2/3 cup brown sugar (more or less to personal taste)

½ tbsp raw honey

2  small apples diced (I used golden delicious)

¼ tsp clove

¼ tsp nutmeg

1/4 tsp cinnamon

 

Directions:

Bring orange juice to a slow simmer and add sugar, stirring until dissolved.

Add clove, nutmeg, and cinnamon.  (Not all of these spices have to be used.  You don’t have to use any at all if you don’t want to. I find it adds a nice warm touch and my family really enjoyed the change last year)

Add fresh cranberries.

Cook until cranberries start to pop.

Add the diced apple.

Simmer until cranberries are all popped.

Serve chilled.

 

 

Always feel free to let me know if you tried this and what you did and didn’t like.  What you changed or added to make it better or your own!

2 responses to “Spiced Cranberry Sauce with Apples

  1. I’m gonna add chopped apples to mine this year along with some spice! I enjoyed your recipe! One exception, I’m gonna sautee my apples with the spice before adding 😉

Shore your thoughts and experiences

