Pumpkin Garlic Knots

I should sleep.  It’s only 9pm but I work at 5:30am.  So sleep is good right?  Right.  But no… no I did something… something I never should have taught myself to do and now I may or may not bake and eat these forever and ever and ever and….

But really, even if you don’t like pumpkin these are very good.  The pumpkin taste is not strong and the garlic is only as strong as you make it.  I didn’t alter the directions to this recipe at all but I did have to slightly alter the ingredients. I am giving much credit to the creator.  Or, at least the person I borrowed this wonderful recipe from. (Credit at the end of the post)  The picture are sadly not the best.  This was a rush job as the batteries were dying, I can’t find the charger and I wasn’t in the mood to run to the store.  Here goes!

Ingredients:

1 cup warm water

1 envelope active dry yeast

2 tablespoon agave nectar (or honey) (I used honey)

1/2 cup canned pumpkin (Of course I used fresh)

2 tablespoons plus 1/3 cup olive oil

1-1/2 teaspoons coarse kosher salt (I used sea salt as I didn’t have kosher salt)

3-1/2 cups unbleached bread flour (I (original author) used King Arthur) (I did as well however I did not use bread flour and they turned out good.)

3 cloves garlic, minced

salt & freshly ground pepper

1/2 teaspoon dried oregano leaves

Directions:

1. For the dough: Pour the warm water into a medium bowl and whisk in the yeast. Let sit until frothy, about 10 minutes. Whisk in the agave nectar, 2 tablespoons olive oil, and pumpkin puree.

2. In a large bowl, whisk together the flour and salt. Make a well in the center of the dry ingredients then pour in your wet ingredients.
3. Using a rubber spatula, pull all the ingredients together. When you can no longer mix, use your hands to start kneading the dough. Knead the dough until it comes together in a smooth and elastic ball, adding flour as necessary to prevent sticking.

4. Lightly oil another large bowl and put your dough ball inside it — flipping over once to coat both sides lightly with oil. Cover with a damp towel or plastic wrap and let rise for about 2 hours; or until nearly doubled in size
5. Preheat oven to 425 degrees F, put in a pizza stone (you may use a pan, too, but it works best with a stone), and divide the dough into two equal pieces. If you’re planning to use the other half the next day, just put it in a large zip-lock bag and store in the fridge. You may also freeze the dough for up to three weeks.

6. To create the garlic knots: tear off sections of dough (2 tablespoons at a time) and roll them into a long snake shape. Tie that snake in a knot. Set aside and continue with the rest of the dough. (It helped me to wet my hands for this part to keep the dough from sticking)


7. Once you’ve made all your knots, put them on your stone (or on your pan) and let bake until golden brown on the tops, about 10-15 minutes depending on size of knots.

8. While the knots are baking, in a bowl mix together the 1/3 cup olive oil with minced garlic, salt, pepper, and oregano. When the knots are done, toss in the olive oil mixture to coat. (I brushed mine on which probably made more of a mess)

Lovingly borrowed from (And many thanks to): http://www.neverhomemaker.com/2010/04/pumpkin-garlic-knots.html

2 responses to “Pumpkin Garlic Knots

Shore your thoughts and experiences

