Black Bean Brownies (Gluten free and tasty too!)

A new year and a new me.  Though, I’ve been saying this for years.  I started before January 1st and decided I am done with fast food.  Giving it up for a year and hopefully for good.  I am working out and tracking weight on a weekly basis.  What good would these previous two endeavors be without looking for some healthy and tasty recipes to start making and enjoying.   I have a few healthy recipes posted already but I’m aiming for more and more.  And I’m going to kick that off with a healthy chocolate treat!

Looks like brownie, smells like brownie!

Looks like brownie, smells like brownie!

I saw a recipe for these when I was browsing some posts of a blogger that I follow.  Unfortunately some of the ingredients in her recipe are either slightly difficult to obtain at a local store or if they are easily obtainable they can be a bit pricey.  So I browsed around a little bit and found this.  I was skeptical.  Very skeptical.  After reading a few comments and heeding the advice of others I made a few very slight tweaks and made these.  They’re good.  They’re tasty.  They’re chocolatey.  It almost tastes like I am using a fake sugar like aspartame or sucralose which I would never touch willingly.  But there are absolutely no fake sugars here.  I do suggest giving these healthy treats a try.  From what I was reading even people’s kids like them and have no clue there are beans in them.

Ingredients:

1 (15 1/2 ounce) can black beans (rinsed and drained)

3 eggs

3 tablespoons olive oil

4 tablespoons dark cocoa powder

1 pinch sea salt

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

3/4 cup sugar

1 ½ tsp baking soda

1 ½ teaspoons baking powder
Directions:

Drain the liquid from the beans.

Mix ingredients together in a blender/food processor until pureed.  If you don’t have that or find it to be a slight pain to scrape beans out like I do, use a hand mixer!

Pour into a greased 8×8 cake pan.

Stir in some chocolate chips and nuts, or leave plain.

Bake at 350 F for approximately 30 minutes.

It well be soft and jiggly and tooth picks will come out dirty.  Keep in mind that this is not a regular brownie batter.

Let cool completely before cutting.  Enjoy!
Adapted from: http://www.food.com/recipe/black-bean-brownies-gluten-free-255239?oc=linkback

One response to “Black Bean Brownies (Gluten free and tasty too!)

Shore your thoughts and experiences

